Book Your Free Consultation Today!

Home > > Types of Visas > > Kaary (Work) Visas > > General Skilled Migration (GSM) > > 191 (Skilled Regional Permanent Residence) Visa
Types of Visas
191 (Skilled Regional Permanent Residence) Visa 
The Permanent Residence (Skilled Regional) Visa (Subclass 191) permits workers who hold an eligible visa and meet a certain income requirement, to permanently live and work in Australia.

The Permanent Residence (Skilled Regional) Visa consists of two visa streams – the Regional Provisional Stream and the Hong Kong Stream.

The Regional Provisional Stream allows individuals who have resided and worked in designated regional areas in Australia on an eligible visa, and have abided by the conditions of that eligible visa, to live and work in Australia permanently.

The Hong Kong Stream enables Hong Kong or British National (Overseas) passport holders who have shown a sincere commitment to Australia, to live and work permanently in the country.

You can be in or outside Australia when applying and when the decision is made, but not in immigration clearance.

Key features:

  • Permanently reside in Australia.
  • Access to Medicare – Australia’s public health care scheme.
  • Sponsor relatives to come to Australia.
  • Travel to and from Australia for 5 years.
  • Work and study in the country.


  • Sign the Australian values statement, if 16 years and older.
  • Meet the health and character requirements.
  • No prior visas cancelled or refused.
  • Have an eligible visa, and comply with the. conditions of that visa.