Book Your Free Consultation Today!

Home > > Types of Visas > > Kaary (Work) Visas > > General Skilled Migration (GSM) > > 189 (Skilled Independent) Visa
Types of Visas
189 (Skilled Independent) Visa  
The Skilled Independent (Subclass 189) Visa allows invited workers, eligible New Zealand citizens, and eligible Hong Kong or British National (Overseas) passport holders who possess the skills required in Australia, to permanently settle and work in the country.

The features and eligibility slightly differ based on the respective stream. There are three visa streams under the 189 Skilled Independent Visa – the Points-Tested Stream, the New Zealand Stream, and the Hong Kong Stream.

The Points-tested stream allows workers possessing the skills required in Australia to live and work permanently in the country upon invitation.

The New Zealand stream permits eligible citizens of New Zealand who have shown commitment and made contributions to Australia to permanently live and work in the country. The New Zealand Stream (Subclass 189) is permanently closed to new applicants.

The Hong Kong stream enables Hong Kong or British National (Overseas) passport holders who have shown commitment to Australia to live and work permanently.
Step 1 Start your Process with F4MG
Step 2 Lodge your Skill Assessment
Step 3 Lodge Expression of Interest through Skill Select
Step 4 Receive SN (State Nomination) & ITA (invitation to apply) for the visa
Step 5 Lodge Visa application (within 60 days of ITA)
Step 6 Receive 189 Visa Grant


Under all the three visa streams of subclass 189, you can:

  • Stay in Australia permanently
  • Travel to and from Australia for 5 years
  • Access to Medicare – Australia’s public healthcare scheme
  • Work and study in Australia

Eligibility for the Points-tested stream:

To be eligible for the Subclass 189 Skilled Independent Visa (Points-tested stream), you must meet the following criteria:

  • Your profession must be on the 189 occupation list (MLTSSL).
  • You must have a skills assessment of your occupation recognized by Australia.
  • You must submit an Expression of Interest (EOI) and receive an invitation from the authorities to apply.
  • You need to score enough points in the points test based on your occupation.
  • You must be between the ages of 18 to 44 years.
  • You must demonstrate your English language proficiency.
  • You must meet all health and character requirements.

Eligibility for the Hong Kong Stream:

  • Hold an eligible visa
  • You must have lived in Australia for 4 years continuously
  • Have “functional English”
  • Meet the respective health requirements
  • Meet the respective character requirements